Reaver Prep

Prepping isn't crazy, but you can get crazy prepping. Practical advice for the prepared American.

My first taste of SHTF

Leave a comment

Hello all,

It’s been a while. I apologize for that.

Doomsday-prepper

Tonight I came across an article written by a Bosnian describing his experience as a citizen during a year of, essentially, real life SHTF. Quite frankly the article was both enlightening, and startling. So, I thought I would share my first experience in a SHTF scenario.

I apologize now, but the narrative is going to be purposely vague for several reasons. Chief among them is during this experience I was there in an official capacity and I’m not authorized to present these details.

Since I turned 18 year old, I’ve worn one uniform or another. For a while I was a “Wilderness Rescue Technician”. Additionally, I was a Rapid Response Medical Responder. Basically, I didn’t get the title of EMT or Paramedic, but I held much of the same licensing and/or responsibilities. My job was to locate, stabilize, and extricate. I had access to very few tools, medicines, or devices because 85% of the time I was responding with only that which I could carry on my person.

Well, one particular disaster I responded, initially, due to my time as a support member of a Swift Water Rescue Squad. However, due to politics and budget cuts severing communication from the Federal Government to my state, I responded voluntarily with 3rd party civilian charity organization with approval to operate in my capacity by special recognition by the state in which the disaster had occurred. Complicated, I know.

Upon arrival I was “checked in” by a man from the State’s State Police. He checked through my credentials, my certifications, and asked, “Are you armed”? I wasn’t, not that I was opposed, but I was responding in a rescue capacity. He hands me a Sig Sauer P220 (.45 ACP) and says, “You’ll want that”.

I was attached to a rag tag team consisting of 2 State Troopers, 4 National Guard MP’s, 2 Civil Air Patrolman, 4 Deputy Sheriff’s, and a paramedic. My first question was, “Where’s the rescue team”. I was advised, I was the rescue team. Any of the other men could help, but I was the resident rescue. Resources, and people, were just too far and few.

The first 2 days our “mission” was to check homes, evacuate citizens, and render aid. By day 3 the situation had deteriorated so badly that we were no longer even trying. We would be given a specific objective, and we would satisfy that objective only. Mostly stuff like, there is a family trapped on a roof at “insert area here”. You will be granted X resource(s), make it happen. That went well for 2 days or so, but then the disaster “let up”. After that, roaming gangs of “outlaws” starting taking over neighborhoods. Oh, did I mention that prior to my arrival, and the initial disaster the Feds and State Police had spent days disarming the legal gun owners? So, I figured at that point the “mission” would end for people like me and those who carried guns for a living (which I did not at that point) would be getting those in need out. Wrong. Those who carried guns for a living were reallocated to other tasks (protecting officials) and pretty much abandoned the people. I was informed that my services were no longer required.

Now, I will say this much. There were a lot of good men and women who found ways around their new orders and saved a lot of people. Those are the kind of people I like having my back, and the kind of people I try to be. You do what’s right, because it’s right. While your local police, fire, rescue are you neighbors, friends, parishioners, etc.; remember, the big government doesn’t give 1 crap about you. Ultimately, you, SS#(input number here), are expendable in the name of order.

What’s the point of this tirade? Simple:

1. Plan

2. Practice

3. Network

4. Organize

5. Survive.

-Reaver

Leave a comment